Xavier Fettweis

Background

As a child, Xavier Fettweis was already a budding meteorologist thanks to a small weather station installed at his parents’ house. In 1996, when it was decision time, he entrusted it to his father and went to study for a degree in maths at ULg, with the intention of becoming a maths teacher.

During his degree, he developed a taste for research and teaching at university level. Furthermore, he realised that his passion for meteorology had not waned. He therefore decided to continue and complete his training with a post-graduate diploma in climatology at UCL. He then started working on this PhD on the climate in Greenland at the G. Lemaître Institute of Astronomy and Geophysics at UCL. He presented his thesis in 2006.

Since his return to ULg in September 2007, he has continued his work on modelling the climate in Greenland in the Climatology and Topoclimatology Laboratory.Xavier Fettweis has been an FNRS research associate since October 2013.

Publications

Consult the list of publications on ORBI

Contact

xavier.fettweis@ulg.ac.be

See article(s) and video(s)

Vers moins d’inondations en Ardenne ?
L'influence de l'homme sur l’élévation du niveau des mers
Preparing ourselves for a rise in sea level
An uncertain future for the Greenland ice sheet
Xavier Fettweis, climatologue (vidéo ULg.TV)
Les calottes polaires et le réchauffement climatique (Pecha Kucha)
Il se passe quelque chose au Groenland !

Xavier Fettweis

Parcours

Enfant déjà, Xavier Fettweis était un météorologue en herbe grâce à une petite station météo installée chez ses parents. En 1996, à l’heure des choix, il la confie à son père et entreprend une licence en mathématiques à l’ULg, avec au départ le projet de devenir professeur de mathématiques.

Au cours de cette formation, il prend goût à la recherche et à l'enseignement universitaire. De plus, il s’aperçoit que sa passion pour la météorologie ne l’a jamais quitté. Il décide alors de poursuivre sur sa lancée et complète sa formation avec un DEA en climatologie à l'UCL. Il prépare ensuite son doctorat sur le climat du Groenland à l’Institut d’Astronomie et de Géophysique G. Lemaître de l’UCL, thèse qu’il défendra en 2006.

De retour à l’ULg depuis septembre 2007, il poursuit ses travaux sur la modélisation du climat du Groenland dans le Laboratoire de climatologie et de topoclimatologie. Xavier Fettweis est chercheur qualifié du FNRS depuis octobre 2013.

Publications

Consulter la liste de publications sur ORBI

Contact

xavier.fettweis@ulg.ac.be

Voir article(s) et reportage(s)

Vers moins d’inondations en Ardenne ?
L'influence de l'homme sur l’élévation du niveau des mers
Préparons-nous à la hausse du niveau des mers
Futur incertain pour la calotte du Groenland
Xavier Fettweis, climatologue (vidéo ULg.TV)
Les calottes polaires et le réchauffement climatique (Pecha Kucha)
Il se passe quelque chose au Groenland !